In the Beginning

Midsummer may seem like a strange time to begin a gardening blog, but it’s about this time every year that the garden honeymoon which began with the midwinter seed catalogs starts to wear just a little bit thin. My guess is that I’m not alone in this sentiment. I love my garden, I really do, but every year right around this time I’m just the teensiest bit frustrated by too much rain, or too little rain, or an inexplicable crop failure, or an overnight Japanese beetle infestation. The fall gardening magazines arrive and my frustration grows as I compare my beloved, dusty, beetle-chewed garden to the glossy photographs of ‘Autumn Joy’ Sedum paired perfectly with charmingly faded Rudbeckia and three other plants I’ve never even heard of.

And so this blog was conceived as a figurative shot in the arm for the real gardener. The real gardener is lucky to get one perfect pairing a year. The real gardener knows both the crushing realization that a prized plant did not make it through the winter and the exhilarating realization that another one did.  The real gardener is usually dirty. The real gardener does not pay someone else to garden for her.

So for anyone who’s experienced feelings of frustration, or inadequecy, or perhaps rage when confronted with perfect magazine gardens, we’re here to tell you that you are not alone. Stick around! We’re going to have fun.

Leave a Reply

